Making Lois Proud

DSCN0380

Water-logged- a clear indication of heavy use

Although I never had a chance to meet Lois Hole, my idol and mentor, she has shaped my aspirations and life goals. Lois engrained the concept that every child in this world should spend time in a garden and know how to grow their own food. Communities have the capacity to support one another, and there’s no better way than using food as a way to catalyze this support! She was also known for giving anyone and everyone a hug- a trait I can easily relate to.

Aside from the philosophical impact Lois has had on me, she has increased my confidence in gardening ten-fold, due to the simplicity of her  gardening books. My bible, truly, is her book: Vegetable Favorites.

This being said, I have started to plant some seeds from Hope Seeds, a wonderful company that focuses on heirloom and organic varieties! This will be my first year planting in the Atlantic- let’s see how this goes!

Screen shot 2013-03-27 at 2.11.04 PM

Hope Seeds

Screen shot 2013-03-27 at 2.11.44 PM

Providing an early start

The Plan:

DSCN0395DSCN0391

2 thoughts on “Making Lois Proud

Leave a Reply

