Quirks and Quark

Today couldn’t have been a more lovely day. It started with a stroll to the market to pick up ingredients for Easter Brunch. I picked up some Jeff’s Best Buckwheat flour for my secret blueberry banana pancakes, Armadale quark cheese for my German cheesecake, also known as Käsekuchen, and eggs to colour! My childhood has always consisted of preparing an Easter basket that my family would take to the Polish church to get blessed. This consisted of a priest splattering holy water over hundreds of beautifully decorated baskets that would be brought in by enthusiastic Polish families, who were last seen at church on Christmas eve 😉

Screen shot 2013-03-31 at 1.45.09 AM      Screen shot 2013-03-31 at 1.38.59 AM Screen shot 2013-03-31 at 1.39.26 AM

Today also marked the first day I was able to peg some stakes in the ground and plot my raised beds for the garden.

Screen shot 2013-03-31 at 1.38.18 AM

DSCN0396

Rico and I had a good time outside and look forward to many more days out in the garden! I also faced my fear of using a metal measuring tape. Please tell me someone else hates using these metal “paper-cut-like” devices (note the unnecessary glove I’m wearing for protection.) We all have our quirks…. and our quark (looking forward to eating that cheesecake and dreaming of raised beds).

Screen shot 2013-03-31 at 1.45.24 AM

Official “Before” photo

Leave a Reply

